Four to contest Elgin City North by-election

FOUR CANDIDATES ARE set to contest the Elgin City North by-election on July 13.

At the deadline for submissions today it was revealed that Patsy Gowans (SNP) and independent Terry Monaghan will join the two candidates who had already declared for the seat – Maria McLean (Scottish Conservative) and Nick Taylor (Scottish Labour).

The by-election was brought about by the resignation of independent councillor Sandy Cooper just four days after being returned.

Four polling stations will open on Thursday, July 13 – Bishopmill Hall, Seafield Primary School, Williamson Hall and the Elgin Community Church.

At the count last month six candidates contested the ward with Frank Brown (Conservative), Sandy Cooper (Independent) and Paula Coy (SNP) being elected.