Celebrating young people at the Elgin Youth Café

[responsivevoice_button voice=”UK English Male” buttontext=”Listen to Post”]

Celebrating young people at Elgin Youth Café

The Elgin Youth Development Group (EYDG) organised a dinner to celebrate the work, commitment and dedication of their young people, volunteers, families and community groups on Saturday night.  Attended by a host of guests some of whom came from outwith the area, Ian McLaughlan, Chief Executive at Youth Scotland commented “It was great to meet so many of the young people involved in The Warehouse at Elgin Youth Café, some of the staff, directors and guests… I was blown away by the leadership shown (and recognised!) especially by the young people and adult volunteers; the staff; and the directors of the charity.”

Speaking about the inspiration for the night, Clair Ferguson, Chief Officer of the charity explained “We wanted to organise an event in our 21st Year which celebrates the amazing achievements of our young people and volunteers. Without the work that they do around the café we would not be able to do what we do.”

On the back of their highly commended award at Moray Young Citizens Award, the charity’s Inspiration Week Team celebrated winning the Kay Ralph Memorial Award which recognises the outstanding impact of young people. While Moray Young Citizen Award Winner Aidan Henderson took home the organisation’s EYDG choice award.

“To win this award for doing what I love is amazing.” Aidan said when reflecting on his win while Emily Burns, a member of the Inspiration Week Team and Community Champion explained what the team win meant to her “It is overwhelming and phenomenal that we got an award for allowing people to hear inspirational stories.”

This ceremony kicks of the organisations 21st year celebrations with more events scheduled later in the year.

Award winners of the night included:

Adult Volunteer of the Year – Jim Walton

Young Volunteer of the Year – Lauren Robertson

Living Well – Jacob Sutherland and Fenella Allen

Leadership Award – Teigan MacLennan

Community Champion – Emily Burns

Outstanding Contribution – Fiona Birse

Inkwell Choice – Baby Steps (Kirsteen Carmichael and Sammy Morrison)

Youth Choice – June McArthur

EYDG Choice – Aidan Henderson

Kay Ralph Memorial Award – Inspiration Week Team 2018

A number of young people also received recognition certificates, including a number of Saltire Awards, which celebrate, recognise and reward the commitment, contribution and achievements of young volunteers in Scotland.