Nominations for vital Moray by-election close on Monday

By-election will be held on October 1

NOMINATIONS FOR THE local government by-election in Moray’s Heldon and Laich ward will close on Monday at 4pm.

So far just three candidates have declared an intention to contest the election called after the resignation of Eric McGillivray.

Candidates must lodge their nomination papers with the returning officer at the Moray Council election office in Elgin. The poll will take place on Thursday, October 1 with the count being undertaken at the Lossiemouth Town Hall the following day.

Polling places will be in open from 7am to 10pm across the ward in Lossiemouth, Hopeman, Burghead, Duffus, Alves and Miltonduff.

The deadline to register to vote is Tuesday, September 15 and the deadline to apply to vote by post is 5pm on Wednesday, September 16. Those wishing a proxy vote have until 5pm on Wednesday, September 23.

Candidates declared so far are Independent Dennis Slater, Greens candidate James MacKessack-Leitch and SNP candidate Joyce O’Hara.

More information about the election or becoming a candidate can be found at or by calling the elections helpline on 01343 563334.