Cairn is dedicated to the memory of RAF Lossiemouth airmen

XV Memorial RAF Lossiemouth

A cairn built by sappers from 39 Engineering Regiment at Kinloss Barracks has been dedicated to the memory of the three airmen killed in an accident over the Moray Firth.

The Cairn was dedicated to the memories of Flight Lieutenant Hywel Poole, Flight Lieutenant Adam Saunders and Squadron Leader Sam Bailey, who all died after two Tornado jets from XV(Training) Squadron at RAF Lossiemouth crashed into the sea on July 3, 2012.

It was unveiled in a private ceremony at the Moray base on the first anniversary of the tragedy.

Members of the Squadron attended the dedication led by their CO, Squadron Leader Jon Nixon.

Leave a comment