Six throw their hats in the ring for Elgin City North election

With nominations now closed for the Elgin City North by-election voters will now know they will be faced with a choice of six candidates.

The four main parties had already announced they would contest the seat vacated by Labour’s Barry Jarvis.

Morvern Forrest will stand for the Green Party against Alex Griffiths from the Scottish Conservatives, Kirsty Reid from the SNP and Craig Graham for Scottish Labour.

Also contesting the seat is Ramsay Urquhart representing the UK Independence Party and Sandy Cooper, an Independent candidate.

Polling day will be Thursday, December 11 while electors may also use a postal vote option – people in the ward have until November 24 to register for voting if they have not already done so with the closing date for postal votes set at November 25.

Polling stations will be set up at the Bishopmill Hall, Seafield School, Williamson Hall, St Columba’s Church and the Pinefield Community Centre.

Counting will be conducted on Friday, December 12 in the Elgin Town Hall.

Leave a comment