Ballots on the way for Moray community council election

Portknockie - postal ballot sent
Portknockie – postal ballot sent

PORTKNOCKIE RESIDENTS SHOULD soon receive postal ballot packs allowing them to have their say on community council representatives.

An interim election was called when a request by Moray Council for volunteers to fill vacancies produced six candidates for the five available places.

Portknockie Community Council was formed at the regular elections in 2013 – but due to the number of members leaving the area or resigning, membership had fallen to the point where one third of the members were co-opted and vacancies still remained.

That sparked the new ballot for whom six community members have put themselves forward – Diane Anderson, Elaine Davidson, Andy Dewar, John Herd, Fraser Milton and Bert Reid.

All community council elections are conducted by postal vote only – there are no polling stations in operation, so all eligible voters in the area will receive a postal vote.

The depute returning officer, Moira Patrick, said: “Voters should read their postal vote pack carefully. Included in the pack are the candidates’ statements to help the voter choose who to vote for.

“The voter then has up to five choices on the ballot paper, which should be marked with an X. You can vote for one or more choices, up to a maximum of five.”

Voters have until Thursday, August 20 to return their postal vote in the envelope provided.The count will take place the following day, Friday, August 21, at Moray Council headquarters in Elgin.

For more information about this election visit, call the elections helpline on 01343 563334 or e-mail