Ross takes Moray seat for Scottish Conservatives

SCOTTISH CONSERVATIVE DOUGLAS ROSS has toppled the SNP’s Angus Robertson to take the Moray seat in the General Election.

At shortly after 2am the dramatic result was revealed at Elgin Town Hall and gave the victory to Ross with a majority of 4159 – overturning the SNP majority in 2015 of just over 9000.

Douglas Ross polled 22637 of the vote against outgoing MP Angus Robertson’s 18478, with Labour’s Jo Kirby a distant third with 5208. LibDem Angus Linklater polled 1078 votes while the Independent candidate Anne Glen just 204.  Turnout was 67.5%.

An emotional Douglas Ross congratulated his opponents and election officials immediately after the result, before pledging: “My first and only priority will be to serve the people of this constituency to the best of my ability.”

Paying tribute to Mr Robertson’s 16 years as Moray’s MP, he said: “I’d like to pay tribute to my fellow candidates. Could I also say to Angus, thank-you on behalf of the people of Moray for your outstanding service to the people of Moray over the last 16 years.”

Mr Ross’ election agent was Fochabers/Lhanbryde councillor Marc Macrae, who said: “We saw a good turnout which was fantastic.  Moray needs an MP that works for the constituency – I think people in Moray and throughout Scotland are sending a message that we do not want a second Independence referendum, now the message will be to just get the job done.”